Description : Description : Description : Description : Description : Description : Description : F:\Site\\img\fr1.gif

Description : Description : Description : Description : Description : Description : Description : F:\Site\\img\it1.gif


Description : Home





Prix International des droits de l'homme Ludovic-Trarieux 2013

Premio Internacional de Derechos Humanos Ludovic Trarieux 2013

Internationalen Ludovic-Trarieux-Menschenrechtspreis 2013

Prêmio Internacional de Direitos Humanos Ludovic Trarieux 2013

Premio Internazionale per i Diritti Umani Ludovic Trarieux 2013

Ludovic Trarieux Internationale Mensenrechtenprijs 2013

Since/Depuis/ Desde/Dal/Seit 1984


“The award given by lawyers to a lawyer”

“L’hommage des avocats à un avocat ”

“El homenaje de abogados a un abogado

“Il Tributo degli avvocati ad un avvocato”

Die Hommage von Anwälten zu einem Anwalt






The Ludovic-Trarieux

International Human Rights Prize 2013

 presented to

Vadim Kuramshin



On December 5th, 2013 in Paris.


Meeting in Geneva Law Courts on June 20th, 2013, the Jury of 29 European lawyers presided by lawyer Bertrand FAVREAU, awarded the 18th Ludovic-Trarieux International Human Rights Prize to lawyer from Kazakhstan, Vadim Kuramshin.


Vadim Kuramshin is a prominent lawyer and human rights defender, currently sentenced to 12 years in prison, well known for his defense of victims of those serving sentences and suffering beatings in prison and for his investigations into the murder of prisoners.

Vadim Kuramshin was arrested right after coming back from an OSCE conference in Warsaw in September 2012, during which he presented a speech denouncing human rights abuses in Kazakhstan. On 31 October 2012, the appeals panel of Zhambyl court annulled the previous jury verdict due to alleged 'significant procedural violations' during the earlier court sessions.


Vadim Kuramshin was re-arrested on 31 October 2012 in the city of Petropavlovsk, northern Kazakhstan. He was reportedly beaten during the arrest and while in detention in the detention facility in Petropavlovsk. Protesting against harassment and threats received in pre-trial detention, including threats of sexual violence, Vadim Kuramshin cut his veins. He was consequently placed in solitary confinement due to “violation of the conditions of his detention”. On 3 November 2012, he was transported from Petropavlovsk to the detention facility in Taraz.

He was sentenced to 12 years in prison on December 7, 2012 on charges of blackmailing the assistant of the district attorney. The verdict was upheld by the Court of Taraz on 14th February 2013. In addition to the court ordered the confiscation of his property. This trial has been widely reported as not conforming with international standards.

In March 2013, Vadim Kuramshin was transferred to prison colony EC 164/4, a prison infamous for human rights violations, which increases fears for his safety.

Prize will be officially presented on December 5th,  2013 in Paris.




Created in 1984, the "International Human Rights Prize Ludovic -Trarieux” is awarded to " a lawyer, regardless of nationality or Bar, who thoroughout his career has illustrated, by his activity or his suffering, the defence of human rights, the promotion of defence rights, the supremacy of law, and the struggle against racism and intolerance in any form ".


It is the oldest and most prestigious award given to a lawyer in the world, commemorating the memory of the French lawyer, Ludovic Trarieux (1840-1904), who in the midst of the Dreyfus Affair, in France, in 1898, founded the " League for the Defence of Human Rights and the Citizen ", because, he said: " It was not only the single cause of a man which was to be defended, but behind this cause, law, justice, humanity ".


The first Prize was awarded on March 29th, 1985 to Nelson Mandela then in jail. It was officially presented to his daughter, Zenani Mandela Dlamini, on April 27th 1985, in front of forty presidents of Bars and Law Societies from Europe and Africa. It was the first award given to Mandela in France and the first around the world given by lawyers. On February 11th 1990, Nelson Mandela was released. Since then, it was decided that the Prize would be awarded again.


Since 2003, the Prize is awarded every year in partnership by the Human Rights Institute of The Bar of Bordeaux, the Human Rights Institute of the Bar of Paris, the Human Rights Institute of  The Bar of Brussels, l'Unione forense per la tutela dei diritti dell'uomo (Roma), Rechtsanwaltskammer Berlin, the Bar of Luxemburg, the Bar of Geneva as well as the Union Internationale des Avocats (UIA), and the European Bar Human Rights Institute (IDHAE) whose members are the biggest european law societies fighting for human rights. It is presented every year in a city that is home to one of the member Institutes.



Since 1984 :


1985: Nelson MANDELA (South Africa)

1992: Augusto ZÚÑIGA PAZ (Peru) †

1994: Jadranka CIGELJ (Bosnia-Herzegovina)

1996 Nejib HOSNI (Tunisia) and Dalila MEZIANE (Algeria).

1998 ZHOU Guoqiang (China)

2000 Esber YAGMURDERELI (Turkey)

2002 Mehrangiz KAR (Iran)

2003 Digna OCHOA and Bárbara ZAMORA (Mexico)

2004: Akhtam NAISSE (Syria)

2005: Henri BURIN DES ROZIERS (Brazil)

2006: Parvez IMROZ (India)

2007 : René GÓMEZ MANZANO (Cuba)

2008 : U AYE MYINT (Burma)

2009 : Beatrice MTETWA (Zimbabwe)

2010 : Karinna MOSKALENKO (Russia)

2011 : Fethi TERBIL (Libya)

2012 : Muharrem ERBEY (Turkey)



Description : haut de la page
Top of the page


Description : Click here to close this window